GO PANTHERS! :: click here for more info!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Community Franklin High School presents annual Senior Awards Day

Franklin High School held its Class Day Friday, May 2, in the FHS gym. The B-Naturals provided intermittent musical accompaniment.

Awards were presented in academics, athletics, extra curricular, cultural arts, vocational education, and service, and were presented by assistant principals Pam Cabe and Barry Woody and Teacher of the Year, Sarah Weresuk.

Civic Awards that are given to seniors who possess Civic Leadership.

click here for the full photo gallery ]


*Creative Writing - Bridgette Berry, Brett Palmer
*English - Carrie Doster, Cassie Doster
*Exceptional Children - Travis Hope
*Foreign Languages taking both Spanish and French - Bryce Payne
*French 6 - Bridgette Berry
*French 5 - Brianna Kennedy
*Library Science - Brianna Kennedy
*Mathematics - Rayven Casada, Ben Watson
*North Carolina Scholars Program recognizes those candidates who have pursued a rigorous academic course of study.

School Spirit Award - Emma Scott and Jackson RoperApel, Kelsey Diane Bellavance, Lydia Marie Berry, Bridgette Olivia Brow, Eleanor Anne Buchanan, Matthew Branch Bullis, Holly Marie Casada, Rayven Malone Culpepper, Brinkley Anne Curtis, Sabrina Jenell Doster, Carrie Marie Doster, Cassie Jo Fountain, Dakota Len Gillespie, Logan Chandler Henderson, Michael Banks, Jr. Jenkins, Savannah Rae Kennedy, Brianna Dawn Loughborough, Jordan Mary Elizabeth McCauley, Robert Cole Neitz, Kristen Leigh Palmer, Brett GregoryPayne, Bryce Lynne Phillips, Tiffany Kaitlyn Raphael, Sierra Danyelle Rodgers, Cody Daniel Scott, Emma Elizabeth Simpson, Drew Edman Stewart, Maggie Lou Underwood, Amy Christine Watson, Benjamin Thomas, Ben Watson
*Social Studies - Brett Palmer, Tyler Holland
*Spanish -Bryce Payne, Joe Consentino


*Baseball - Josh Carver, Jake Corbin, Tyler Holland
*Basketball - Maggie Stewart, Landon Allen
*BFS - Jennifer Garcia, Tyler Bowman, Jackson Roper, Drew Simpson
*Cheerleading - Danielle Jimison, Tasha Wooten
*Cross Country - Holly Bullis, Devin Pilkerton
*Dance - Lacey Harwood, Savannah Jenkins, Rieley Nichols, Natasha Wooten
*Diving - Blake Randall
*Football - Tyler Bowman, Blake Randall, Trey Strickland
*Golf - Keirsten Hedden
*Indoor Track - Tyler Bowman
*Soccer - Deven Quigley, Kelsey Sheffield, Kristen Neitz, Miguel Arellano, Krash Gooder, Juan Morales, Landon Sprinkle
*Softball - Morgan Cochran, Amber Cook Haylee Overholt, Amy Underwood
*Swimming - Caledin Wylupek
*Tennis - Michaela Hilliard, John Karcher, Blake Randall
*Track - Kyle Brooks, Devin Pilkerton, Trey Strickland, Ben Watson, Will Watson
*Volleyball - Haley Overholt, Amy Underwood
*Wrestling - Jackson Roper

Citizenship Award - Drew SimpsonEXTRA CURRICULAR

*FCA - Rayven Cassada, Ben Watson
*FFA - Carrie Doster, Ian Daugherty, Nathan Jenkins
*French Quiz Bowl - Savannah Jenkins
*Hiking Club - Carrie Doster, Cassie Doster, Logan Gillespie
*Mock Trial - Greg Palmer, John Karcher
*Senior Class President, Danielle Jimison
*Spanish Quiz Bowl - Holly Bullis, Bryce Payne
*Student Council - Drew Simpson, Amy Underwood
*SWAG - Holly Bullis, Jacob Davis, Danielle Jimison, Drew Simpson


*Art - Brett Gibson
Jazz – Brian Sterling
Marching – Olivia Johnson
Concert – Cody Rogers
Overall Ensemble – Sabrina Curtis
B-Naturals - Savannah Jenkins
Chamber Singers - Siearra Raphael
Concert Choir - Megan Bishop, Morgan Cochran
*Color Guard - Kayla Noyes
*Drama - Sarah Nichols, Derek Frame
*Pottery - Logan Gillespie
*Red Online - Miguel Arellano, Amber Cook, Krash Gooder, Cole McCauley
*Yearbook - Kelsey Sheffield

Citizenship Award - Rayven CassadaVOCATIONAL EDUCATION

*Agriculture - Adrian Mace
*Allied Health
Health Science Class - Faith Crawford, Savannah Jenkins
Clinical Allied Health II - Kelsey Apel, Jennifer Garcia
*Architectural Drafting - Dakota Fountain
*Automotive Service Technology - Taylor Holland, David Talley
*Business - Trey Strickland
*Carpentry - Drew Simpson
*Family and Consumer Science - Angelina McCall
Serve Safe - Shelby Klein
*Skills USA - Chelsea Daves
*Welding - Will Watson


The School Spirit Award is one of Franklin High School’s most prestigious awards. It is given to the young man and woman who best exemplify and promote pride in their school. This year the two recipients of the School Spirit Award are: Emma Scott and Jackson Roper

On Senior Awards Day, the Citizenship Award is the highest honor that a student can receive. The young man and woman selected to receive the Citizenship Award continually exhibit honesty, integrity, and a willingness to assume responsibility. Not only do these students demonstrate pride in their school and community by being involved, but they exhibit genuine concern for broader issues affecting society as a whole. Franklin High School is proud to honor: Rayven Cassada and Drew Simpson.


Deadline Notice:

Deadline for Thanksgiving issue
Classifieds, display advertising
& calendar items
Thursday, Nov. 19, at 5 p.m.
for Wednesday, Nov. 25 delivery

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter