HAPPY THANKSGIVING! :: click here to view the 2015 Christmas Gift Guide!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Community Law Enforcement Memorial

Officers who were honored included Correctional Officer William Lee Wright (N.C. Department of Public Safety – Adult Corrections), Deputy Chief Dewayne Charles Hester (Bladen County Sheriff's Office), Master Police Officer Jeremiah Montgomery Goodson, Jr. (Lumberton Police Department), Deputy Sheriff William Ronald Mast, Jr. (Watauga County Sheriff's Department), Trooper Bobby Gene Demuth, Jr. (North Carolina Highway Patrol), and Detective Randall “Shane” Thomas (Henderson County Sheriff's Office). Photos by Vickie CarpenterMembers of the community gathered around Town Square last Friday to honor North Carolina Law Enforcement Officers who lost their lives in the line of duty in 2012.

Master of Ceremonies Al Caiata, Sergeant At Arms, FOP Lodge #81, led the ceremony to remember the fallen officers.

Guest Speaker Congressman Mark Meadows addressed the crowd to share his gratitude for the service of all the officers that protect the citizens of North Carolina.

Highlands Police Chief Bill Harrell and Franklin Police Chief David Adams led the “placing of the wreath” portion of the ceremony.

The ceremony honored six officers who lost their lives throughout the state in 2012.


Christmas Gift Guide 2015

Grab your copy on newsstands today!  

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter