Combined 100 Voice Choir Presents 'My Heart Longs for Christmas' :: Sunday, December 14 & Monday, December 15 at 7pm :: click here for more info!

- published 8/21 (Larry) old link:

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Community

Jimmy Deal and Katie Adams have announced their engagement.

The bride-elect is the daughter of Tom and Dana Adams of Rabun Gap, Ga. She is a graduate of North Georgia College & State University with an accounting degree. She is currently working for Drake Software in Franklin.

The groom-elect is the son of Butch and Patsy Deal of Franklin. He is a graduate of North Carolina State University with an ornamental landscaping degree. He is currently working for Tate Landscaping in Highlands, N.C.

The couple is planning an Aug. 20 wedding in Rabun Gap.

The West District 4-H Horsemanship Clinic will be held at the WNC Ag Center in Fletcher, June 13-15. The clinic is open to all youth — ages 9-18 as of January 1 — not just 4-H youth. Youth participants from the counties in the West Extension District will have priority for spaces until June 1. The remaining spaces may be filled by applicants from outside of the district on a first-come first-served basis, until the allotted 120 spaces are filled.

The horse clinic is designed for youth to increase their horsemanship knowledge and riding skills. Each child brings his/her horse and throughout the three days, participates in riding class in selected disciplines as well as demonstrations and lectures. Whether you are a beginner, intermediate, or advanced rider, the clinic offers something for you.


Macon Program for Progress Head Start parents and staff developed the Back to School Angels Project with a goal to provide backpacks to children leaving Head Start and going into Macon County Public School kindergarten classrooms in the fall. Head Start children receive free backpacks that are filled with ageappropriate school supplies.

MPP, a community action agency, has a limited number of projects that are self-supporting and depend on local donations. The Back to School Angels was developed based on parents in need of assistance who are experiencing financial difficulties.


A benefit gospel singing for the Victory Christian School will be held on Friday evening, May 27, beginning at 6 p.m. at the Ole Mater Farm on Greens Creek near Dillsboro.

The singing will feature Blue Ridge of Franklin along with the Carolina Crossmen of Cullowhee, Archie Watkins and Smoky Mountain Reunion and Mountain Faith (which features three teens who attend Victory Christian School).


Page 311 of 336


Weekly updates in progress!

Grab your FREE copy of the
Macon County News
& Shopping Guide
on newsstands today

The Macon County News
holiday deadlines for
classifieds, display ads
& editorial copy:

– Friday, Dec. 26 for the
Tuesday, Dec. 30 issue

Note: MCN will NOT publish the week of Christmas!

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter