- published 3/27 (Larry) - unpublished ?

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Community

President Nancie Wilson of the Franklin Rotary Club recognized member Judy Chapman for her outstanding and dedicated service in helping Franklin Boy Scout Troop 202 in its reorganization.

Chapman has helped Troop 202 in getting its books in order.

Chapman has been working with Mike Norris and John Henning in the effort to keep the charter for Troop 202.




Cowee Quilters presented their annual contribution of $2,000 to the New Century Scholars program.

Cowee Quilters have been faithful contributors to this program since it started in 1995.



Mayor Bob Scott (R) spoke to the Kiwanis of Franklin Club recently about some of the needs and plans for the Town of Franklin.

Scott stated that priorities continually change, but that street improvement is a priority right now. “Snow crews worked around the clock during the recent snow storm,” said Scott.

Scott pointed out that, although gem mining has been a draw to Franklin, that outdoor activities are quickly becoming the attraction bringing people into Franklin. Geo caching, radio control airplanes, astronomy, birding, bicycling, and hiking are among the current activities drawing visitors, even on an international level.

Some proposed new outdoor attractions are a boat launch and pier (that Duke Energy is building), an outdoor theater, and an “old style” mountain village.

A new town bridge should be built in the next couple years. Scott stated that Franklin was in the midst of a major transition and is seeking direction from the people with the hopes of involving young people in the planning. With Scott is Wesley Hirsch, president Kiwanis.

Members of the court are chosen by the Franklin High School faculty and voted on by the student body. The Mr. and Ms. FHS dance will be held in the
FHS gym on Saturday, March 15, starting at 8 p.m. with the crowning at 8:30 p.m and dance to follow.

Pictured at far left are Alex Houston and Cory Fox; above, (front row, L-R) are Hunter Gibson, Shawn Marcie, Kirsey Apel, Christy Barton, Gracie Hornsby, Maurice McDay, Britt Cochran; (second row) Jordan Burrell, Emilee Lane, Kaitlin Bishop, Leela Boatwright, Avery Graham, Aislinn Vinson, Ashlynn Carruthers, Adrienne Holland, Payton Burrell, Hannah Hilton; (back row) Michael Mathis, Austin Miller, Kelton Lowry, Jackson Perone, Andrew Baldwin, Chase Mallonee, Josh Holland, Landon Potter and Evan Fowler.

Page 9 of 296


click to zoom

published: 10/18/2013
old link: http://www.wpfj.com/free-coupons/
Macon County News is now on:
Find Macon County News on Facebook! and  Find Macon County News on Twitter!
Facebook   Twitter