Wishes of Peace, Love & Joy!

- published 8/21 (Larry) old link: http://www1.cfnc.org/applications/NC_Community_College/apply.html?application_id=1527

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Community

Commander of American Legion Post 108 Don Lee (R) and Commander of Sons of the American Legion-Squadron 108 Gary Browning (L) each presented $250 to Bob Litten of the Executive Board Daniel Boone Council, Boy Scouts of America.






Franklin's annual Relay for Life event was held last Friday and Saturday in the Panther Pit at Franklin High School.

The annual fund-raiser and memorial service began with guest speaker Bucky Tarr welcoming everyone to the Opening Ceremony Friday night. Tarr is currently a teacher and coach at Erwin High School and a former Franklin High School coach. He has been diagnosed with cancer for the second time in 17 months and is currently undergoing treatment. Tarr has been coaching for 31 years.


North Carolina author speaks at 5th annual event

Macon County School’s hosted the 5th annual Family Literacy Night last Thursday at Mountain View Intermediate for students throughout the district in kindergarten through sixth grades.

The theme for this year’s event was “One Family ... Many Stories,” and was centered around the importance of preserving family heritage.

Dr. Gloria Houston, a North Carolina children's book author, was the guest speaker for the evening and was accompanied by her mother, Ruth.


Business license fees not comparable to others.

Getting a tattoo in Macon County can be an expensive endeavor. But for tattoo artists, working at their profession can be equally pricey.

In the state of North Carolina, each county sets its own annual fee for tattoo licensing through the local board of health. In Macon County, the cost is $700 for a parlor owner and $500 for every artist therein. According to local tattoo artists, that is just too high.

“It’s pretty ridiculous if you think about it,” said Tony Mingacci, owner of Estelle Tattoo Parlour in Franklin. “Comparatively, anywhere else it’s anywhere from $100 to $250. I don’t understand why they keep it so high for just a few businesses.”


Page 205 of 336


Holiday Notices:

The Macon County News
holiday deadlines for
classifieds, display ads
& editorial copy:

– Friday, Dec. 26 for the
Tuesday, Dec. 30 issue

Note: MCN will NOT publish this week!

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter