Martin Luther King Day Celebration :: Click to see Events Schedule!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Education Class of 2018 New Century Scholars inducted in recent ceremony at SCC

New Century Scholars from Jackson (L-R) are Kyleena Blankenship, Kristen Buchanan, Savannah Buchanan, Daniel Burch, Rachel Colton, Nathan Dickey, Tyler Espinal, Kadamma Jackson, Indiana Jones, Michael Owenby and Shaina Prewitt. Not pictured: Kayla Cochran, Madison Foster, Mance Gilder and Jose Solorzano.New Century Scholars from Jackson, Macon and Swain counties were recently inducted during a ceremony on Southwestern Community College’s Jackson Campus.

The New Century Scholars Program began in 1995 and is a collaborative educational effort among the public schools in Macon, Jackson and Swain counties and Southwestern Community College. The program targets “high potential” students at the end of sixth grade and provides extra support to those students through their middle school and high school years and while they attend Southwestern Community College.

Students are nominated based on their potential for academic success, yearly promotion and leadership ability. Selected students must display effort in the classroom and have a positive attitude and desire for education, have good behavior and character, meet the county attendance policy, and perform 10 hours per year of community service.

New Century Scholars from Macon County are pictured (L-R) Marisol Belman, Destiny Blanchard, Madison Dalton, Clara Kowal, Brayden West, Makayla Rowland, Chelsey Scruggs, Austin Walz, April Webb and Taylor Welch. Not pictured: Lylah Greer and Emily Southard.Upon completion of high school, students are awarded last-dollar tuition assistance for up to five semesters, enough aid to ensure the student can earn an A.A or A.A.S. degree from Southwestern.

Western Carolina University has added scholarship opportunities that enable high achieving scholars who complete the NCS program and earn an associates degree at SCC to continue their education at the university.

To learn more about the NCS scholarship program, visit or contact Pamela Judson at (828) 339-4477.

7th Grade 2018 Inductees Final List

Kyleena Blankenship
Kristen Buchanan
Savannah Buchanan
Daniel Burch
Kayla Cochran
Rachel Colton
Nathan Dickey
Tyler Espinal
Madison Foster
Mance Gilder
Kadamma Jackson
Indiana Jones
Michael Owenby
Shaina Prewitt
Jose Solorzano

Marisol Belman
Destiny Blanchard
Madison Dalton
Lylah Greer
Clara Kowal
Makayla Rowland
Chelsey Scruggs
Emily Southard
Austin Walz
April Webb
Taylor Welch
Brayden West

Caitlyn Carter
Danina Curtis
Megan Dixon
Jamie Edwards
Sydney Fortner
Kristiana Fuller
Rebekah Griggs
Alexis Johnson
Danielle Kirkland
Isaiah Littlejohn
Dylan McLeod
Mayson Parton
Preston Robinson
Jace Wiggins
Deanna Wood


Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter