HAPPY THANKSGIVING! :: click here to view the 2015 Christmas Gift Guide!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Education Deadline approaching for CSA’s 2013 scholarship opportunities

Doreyl Ammons Cain presents Franklin HIgh School graduate Caleb Joseph Moore with the Founders Scholarship in 2012, with teacher Kathy Breedlove.The goal of Catch the Spirit of Appalachia is to support and encourage youth in honoring and preserving local Appalachian heritage. Therefore, this year CSA will provide four opportunities for a scholarship in the amount of $500 each for “Appalachian Studies,” to be presented to four deserving seniors within four Western North Carolina counties: Jackson, Swain, Haywood and Macon. Each scholarship is focused on a different aspect of Appalachian heritage, and established in honor of someone locally who has made a difference.

Scholarship # 1—The Annie Lee Bryson Memorial Scholarship will be presented to a student from these counties who has declared a major or minor in Appalachian Studies or related studies with an interest in “traditional crafts."

Annie Lee became known as “The Corn Husk Doll Lady,” teaching and demonstrating all over the area, and each year at the Appalachian Homestead in the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. In 1973, she received “The Woman of the Year” award from Western North Carolina Development for her leadership and heavy community involvement. In 2010, Annie Lee received Western Carolina University’s Mountain Heritage Award. Annie Lee passed away in 2010. Her daughters will present the award.

Scholarship # 2— The Mary Jane Queen Memorial Scholarship. The committee will select students who have declared a major or minor in music, with an interest in the traditional music of the Appalachian mountains.

Mary Jane Queen was a balladeer and musician who, along with her family, won numerous awards for her music, such as Charlotte Folk Music Society and the Asheville Mountain Dance and Folk Festival, 1992; N.C. Folk Heritage Award, 1993; WCU Mountain Heritage Award, 1999; Brown Hudson Folklore Award, 2001; National Folk Heritage Fellowship Award, 2007. Mary Jane passed away in 2007. Her daughter will present the award.

Scholarship # 3—The Elmer and Irene Hooper Memorial Scholarship. The committee is looking for high school seniors who have demonstrated excellence in volunteerism and leadership and who are committed to making a difference in the community.

This husband and wife team was involved in many non-profit organizations, including Catch the Spirit of Appalachia, Jackson County Genealogical Society, Jackson County Historical Association, Democrats Men & Women’s club, American Legion Post 104, and Jackson County Transportation. Elmer was a volunteer driver taking people to doctor’s appointments, locally as well as to Raleigh. The two were active members of the Jackson County Senior Center building and renovating projects, as well as coordinators of the “Breakfast Committee.” Irene has been named “Mother of the Year,” statewide. Although Elmer passed away in 2011, Irene will be at the awards ceremony to present the scholarship award.

Scholarship # 4. The Founders Scholarship is a scholarship awarded on the basis of merit or potential within the visual arts, writing or history, with consideration of financial need.

This award will be presented by Amy and Doreyl Ammons, cofounders of Catch the Spirit of Appalachia, Inc.

Applicants must submit completed application and all supporting documents to the Guidance Counselor of the applicant’s school by March 1, 2013, in order to be considered for this year’s scholarship awards. Home schooler applicants should complete the application and send it to CSA, 29 Regal Avenue, Sylva, NC 28779 by March 1, 2013. The application packet may be downloaded by going to our website: www.spiritofappalachia.org. or for more information, call (828)631-4587.


Christmas Gift Guide 2015

Grab your copy on newsstands today!  

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter