HAPPY THANKSGIVING! :: click here to view the 2015 Christmas Gift Guide!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Education Area College Honors

Nicholas J. Brow, of Franklin, N.C. has been named to the Dean's List for the fall 2012 semester at the University of Vermont. Brow is a sophomore Communication Science & Disorders major in the College of Nursing & Health Sciences.

To be named to the Dean's List, students must have a grade-point average of 3.0 or better and rank in the top 20 percent of their class in their respective college or school.

Chartered in 1791, UVM was the first college or university in the United States that did not give preference to a religious sect in its charter. UVM now has nearly 10,459 undergraduates in seven schools and colleges, 1,540 graduate students and 449 medical students. As a small, comprehensive university, it blends the academic heritage of a private university with service missions in the landgrant tradition.

UNCG announces top students

Chancellor Linda P. Brady has announced the names of December 2012 graduates, and of students who attained Deans' List and Chancellor’s List honors at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro during the Fall 2012 semester.

Chancellor’s List
Macon County: Hayley Oosthuysen
Jackson County: Emily O’Shields, Holly Setzer

To make the Chancellor’s List, full-time undergraduates must have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.65 of a possible 4.0. To be eligible, students must be enrolled in at least 12 semester hours of course work. They also must have completed 30 hours of coursework.

UNCG Dean's List
Jackson County: Emily O’Shields, Holly Setzer
Macon County: Emily Esterwood

To make the Dean’s List, students carrying at least six hours of course work must earn an academic grade-point average of 3.5 or higher, with no grade lower than a B-. Students are eligible after they have completed 15 hours of coursework.

Student from Franklin invited to join NCHS

Laura Rebecca Freeman of Franklin, N.C., has accepted membership in The National Society of Collegiate Scholars. NCHS is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies and is the nation’s only interdisciplinary honors organization for first-year and second-year college students. Membership is by invitation only, based on grade-point average and class standing.

Freeman is majoring in history with a minor in political science, studying at the University of Arkansas. She is the daughter of Rev. Margaret and Dr. James R. Freeman Jr.

Southwestern announces top students

Southwestern Community College announced the President’s and Dean's lists for Fall 2012. To earn the honor of President’s List students must achieve and maintain a 3.85 grade-point average. Students with a GPA between 3.50 and 3.84 earn the honor of the Dean's List. To be eligible for either honor, students must be enrolled in a minimum of 12 hours of courses under a curriculum program for the fall session and not have any incomplete or failing grades.

President’s List

Franklin: Kaitlyn Anderson, Kayla Baty, Heather Brendle, Lauren Brown, Amelia Capaforte, Anthony Capaforte, Dylan Clinkenbeard, Mark Conner, Haley Dalton, Sarah Davis, Todd Doolittle, Elizabeth Drevas, Lexie Edwards, Ivette Ertl, Elizabeth Goodrick, Katelyn Hesselbirg, Anna Houston, Bradley Hovis, Jessica Hurst, Eldon Hyatt, Kimberly Jenkins, Jessica Kanai, Evan Laudon, Taylor Ledford, James Lequire, Braulio Martinez, Kayley McCall, Donna McDaniel, Matthew McDaniel, Steffany McMahan, Barry Moore, Brittany Norris, Crystal Norton, Tara Oakes, Caitlyn Parker, Miranda Partington, Erin Petty, Amanda Phillips, Gary Piper, Holly Poole, Daniel Reategui, Savannah Robbins, Randall Ruffner, Cynthia Ryon, Courtney Shuler, Kandis Shumaker, Kimberly Smith, Nicholas Sprinkle, Bethany Steiert, Rachel Stewart, Yordanka Teague, Jana Thompson, Alexandrea VanDyke, Robert Vernelson, Cale Vernon, Janet Walker, Logan Wallace, Dianne Watts, Kady Weed, Jennifer Williams, Kevin Wittekind, Beverly Woodard, Paul Wooten, Briana Yokel, Charles Yonce

Highlands: Gregory Porter, Courtney Rogers, Maggie Rogers, Matt Shuler, Sayward Thompson

Otto: Jeni Bradburn, Russell Helma, Wanda Janow, Chantelle Rondel, Debra Wice

Scaly Mountain: Vandy McCall

Topton: Jennifer Passmore

Dean’s List

Franklin: Carly Alexander, Amy Allison, Danielle Beaumier, Susan Bradshaw, Clifford Burton, Jessica Carey, Angelina Chapman, Sara Chovanic, Linda Cooper, Derrick Cope, Shannon Crisp, Sandra Deats, Dorothy Diddle, Makayla Diddle, Jessica English, Kelle Evans, Mariah Francescutti, Chelsey Greer, Marco Guzman, Jesse Harkins, Ashlyn Hicks, Victoria House, Matthew Impagliatelli, Rebecca Kelly, Tiffany Kowal, Leilani Lanham, Emily Lathrop, Alayna Ledford, MacEy Lewis, Donald Long, Kimberly Loy, Michelle Mangano, Jon Martineau, Marvin Mashburn, Lisa Miller, Jacqueline Newsome, Shannon Newsome, Robert Nolan, Jennifer Oconnor, Antonieta Pasquariello, Lynn Potts, Jennifer Richards, Emily Ritter, Benjamin Rodriguez, Isaac Roots, Kasey Roper, Scott Ross, Ian Sears, Katherine Sevigny, Candice Shaw, Gina Shelton, Jamy Suminski, Lisa Supernant, Lacey Tucker, Yaling White, Lena Wilson, Peter Wolf, Carmen Woodall, Bradley Woods, Hazel Wooten, Zihao Zhu

Highlands: Bobbi Talley

Otto: Alecia Adams, Kathleen Alland, Benjamin Anderson, Lindsey Ellinger, Terri Fountain, Nichole Hill, Kimberly Justice, Arleen Keys, Kayla McClain, Amy Poirier, Megan Ward, Amber Wice


Christmas Gift Guide 2015

Grab your copy on newsstands today!  

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter