Combined 100 Voice Choir Presents 'My Heart Longs for Christmas' :: Sunday, December 14 & Monday, December 15 at 7pm :: click here for more info!

- published 8/21 (Larry) old link:

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

News Education Southwestern welcomes faculty back to school with service awards

Service awards went to, (front row, L-R) Jeanette White of Waynesville, five years; Melissa Allison-Brooks of Waynesville, 15 years; Cyndi Slocumb of Leicester, five years; Todd Moses of Cullowhee, 15 years; Matthew Cass of Sylva, five years; Kathleen Breedlove of Sylva, 25 years; (second row, L-R) Linda Venturo of Dillsboro, 15 years; Melissa Medlin of Tuckasegee, 20 years; Toni Knott of Sylva, 25 years; Diania McRae of Robbinsville, five years; Lois Greene of Whittier, 10 years; Devonne Jimison of Franklin, 15 years; Diane Page of Waynesville, 15 years; and Ellen Heim of Cullowhee, 10 years; (third row, L-R) Sheri Turk of Cullowhee, 10 years; Yvonne Price of Webster, 10 years; Peter Buck of Webster, 10 years; Fairley Pollock; Waynesville, 10 years; Dale Hall of Sylva, 20 years; Latresa Downs of Franklin, five years; Dominique Benson; Sylva, five years; Michael Deaver of Canton, 15 years; (back row, L-R) Mitch Boudrot of Murphy, 10 years; Robert Price of Webster, five years; John Cooper of Franklin, 25 years; Curtis Dowdle of Franklin, 20 years; Phil Weast of Asheville, 15 years; and Gene Norton of Cullowhee, 20 years. Not pictured are: Dianna Gilbert of Franklin, five years; Kathy Owens of Franklin, five years; Cheryl Renfro of Bryson City, five years; Eric Sarratt of Sylva, five years; and Janet Burnette of Arden, 25 years.Southwestern Community College welcomed back faculty for the fall semester on Monday, Aug. 19, at the Jackson Campus.

Faculty and staff were presented various awards and also got updates from several college officials.

Four SCC faculty members were honored for joining the Honor Guard, a status they earn after mentoring a minimum of six credit hours of Honors Program contracts. Attaining Honor Guard status this fall are Dale Hall of Sylva (L) and Kenet Adamson of Asheville. Not pictured are: Jennifer Hippensteel, of Waynesville, and Gregory Smith of Franklin. SCC now has 44 Honor Guard members.Crystal Apple award winners included, from left: Amy Russ of Whittier, Carol Cloer of Franklin, Kenet Adamson of Asheville, Paula Bolado of Waynesville, Deanne Oppermann of Franklin, Susan Cain of Asheville, Ashley Cunningham of Franklin and Kelly Burch of Hayesville. Not pictured are Chad Hallyburton of Sylva and Susan Abram of Whittier.


Weekly updates in progress!

Grab your FREE copy of the
Macon County News
& Shopping Guide
on newsstands today

The Macon County News
holiday deadlines for
classifieds, display ads
& editorial copy:

– Friday, Dec. 26 for the
Tuesday, Dec. 30 issue

Note: MCN will NOT publish the week of Christmas!

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter