Have a Safe & Happy JULY 4th! :: click here for area event listings!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

JV Girls: 4:00 p.m.
JV Boys: 5:00 p.m.
Varsity Girls: 6:30 p.m.
Varsity Boys: 8:00 p.m.
Dec. 6 @ Brevard*
Dec. 7 @ West Oak
Dec. 10 Pisgah*
Dec. 13 @ Smoky Mountain*
Dec. 17 North Henderson*
Dec. 18 @ Swain
Dec. 20 Robbinsville
Dec. 27 FHS Christmas Tournament 3:00 p.m.
Dec. 28 FHS Christmas Tournament Championship 7:30 p.m.
Dec. 30 Swain

Dec. 4 Andrews 6:00 p.m.
Dec. 6 & 7 Tournament @ Towns County
Dec. 11 Tri Match @ Asheville 6:00 p.m.
Dec. 14 Neo @ Tuscola TBA
Dec. 20 Tri Match @ Cherokee 6:00 p.m.
Dec. 21 Open

Dec. 7 Smoky Mountain @ Franklin Fitness Center 2:00 p.m.
Dec. 10 T.C. Roberson @ Zeugner Center - Asheville 5:30 p.m.
Dec. 13 Diving Meet @ YWCA Asheville 7:00 p.m.
Dec. 14 Asheville @ Franklin Fitness Center 2:00 p.m.
Dec. 19 A.C. Reynolds @ Zeugner Center – Asheville 4:00 p.m.

Chad Johnston is the second Michael Waltrip Racing crew chief to find a home at Stewart-Haas Racing.

Johnston confirmed to FOXSports.com and the team has announced that he has signed with Stewart-Haas Racing as crew chief for the No. 14 Chevrolet driven by Tony Stewart in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.

Johnston joins fellow MWR colleague Rodney Childers, who in August left the No. 55 Toyota (to be driven next year by Brian Vickers) to accept the job as crew chief for Kevin Harvick's No. 4 SHR Chevy next year. Daniel Knost has been promoted from race engineer on the No. 39 team to crew chief for the No. 41 car of Kurt Busch. Tony Gibson remains as crew chief for Danica Patrick and the team’s No. 10 Chevrolet. In addition, former crew chief Greg Zipadelli was named vice president of competition with all four crew chiefs reporting to him.


The North Carolina 2A state playoffs kicked off last Friday night with the Franklin Panthers hosting the Parkwood Rebels who travelled four hours through heavy rains to get to the Panther Pit. Seeded number one, the Panthers entered the contest hoping to move past the 16th seed Rebels with ease, but Parkwood had other things in mind.

The evening began in darkness when a transformer blew, leaving the stadium with a strange air about it. Any odd feelings were put to rest however when the undefeated Panthers came out and put up a Jeremiah Young touchdown in the early part of the first quarter and were able to keep the Rebels scoreless. In the second, on a pass from quarterback Luke Keener, Zach Graham ran for a 20-yard touchdown to put Franklin up, 14-0.


HOMESTEAD, Fla. – Denny Hamlin found redemption for a lost season, as Jimmie Johnson advanced to the threshold of legend.

Sidelined for four races with a broken back earlier in the season, Hamlin took the checkered flag in Sunday's Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway, as Johnson claimed his sixth NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship with a ninth-place finish.

Johnson finished the season 19 points ahead of polesitter and race runner-up Matt Kenseth, who held off a furious charge by third-place Dale Earnhardt Jr. in the closing laps. With six NASCAR Sprint Cup titles, Johnson is one behind all-time leaders Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt.


Page 41 of 107

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter