PLOW DAY at Deal Farms :: Saturday, October 10 starting at 9am :: click here for more information!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

Last season the Franklin High School men's varsity basketball team posted a winning season with a record of 20-9. Now as the season begins to take off once again, head coach Jesse Pinkston is optimistic despite having long odds.

“It could be a tough season. We lost seven seniors from last year so experience is definitely lacking,” he said. “Basically we have one returning player who had a significant role last season, but we're going to be okay. We're taking it one game at a time and one practice at a time.”


JV Girls: 4:00 p.m.
JV Boys: 5:00 p.m.
Varsity Girls: 6:30 p.m.
Varsity Boys: 8:00 p.m.
Dec. 6 @ Brevard*
Dec. 7 @ West Oak
Dec. 10 Pisgah*
Dec. 13 @ Smoky Mountain*
Dec. 17 North Henderson*
Dec. 18 @ Swain
Dec. 20 Robbinsville
Dec. 27 FHS Christmas Tournament 3:00 p.m.
Dec. 28 FHS Christmas Tournament Championship 7:30 p.m.
Dec. 30 Swain

Dec. 4 Andrews 6:00 p.m.
Dec. 6 & 7 Tournament @ Towns County
Dec. 11 Tri Match @ Asheville 6:00 p.m.
Dec. 14 Neo @ Tuscola TBA
Dec. 20 Tri Match @ Cherokee 6:00 p.m.
Dec. 21 Open

Dec. 7 Smoky Mountain @ Franklin Fitness Center 2:00 p.m.
Dec. 10 T.C. Roberson @ Zeugner Center - Asheville 5:30 p.m.
Dec. 13 Diving Meet @ YWCA Asheville 7:00 p.m.
Dec. 14 Asheville @ Franklin Fitness Center 2:00 p.m.
Dec. 19 A.C. Reynolds @ Zeugner Center – Asheville 4:00 p.m.

Chad Johnston is the second Michael Waltrip Racing crew chief to find a home at Stewart-Haas Racing.

Johnston confirmed to and the team has announced that he has signed with Stewart-Haas Racing as crew chief for the No. 14 Chevrolet driven by Tony Stewart in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.

Johnston joins fellow MWR colleague Rodney Childers, who in August left the No. 55 Toyota (to be driven next year by Brian Vickers) to accept the job as crew chief for Kevin Harvick's No. 4 SHR Chevy next year. Daniel Knost has been promoted from race engineer on the No. 39 team to crew chief for the No. 41 car of Kurt Busch. Tony Gibson remains as crew chief for Danica Patrick and the team’s No. 10 Chevrolet. In addition, former crew chief Greg Zipadelli was named vice president of competition with all four crew chiefs reporting to him.


The North Carolina 2A state playoffs kicked off last Friday night with the Franklin Panthers hosting the Parkwood Rebels who travelled four hours through heavy rains to get to the Panther Pit. Seeded number one, the Panthers entered the contest hoping to move past the 16th seed Rebels with ease, but Parkwood had other things in mind.

The evening began in darkness when a transformer blew, leaving the stadium with a strange air about it. Any odd feelings were put to rest however when the undefeated Panthers came out and put up a Jeremiah Young touchdown in the early part of the first quarter and were able to keep the Rebels scoreless. In the second, on a pass from quarterback Luke Keener, Zach Graham ran for a 20-yard touchdown to put Franklin up, 14-0.


Page 44 of 110

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter