Have a Safe & Happy JULY 4th! :: click here for area event listings!

Click for Franklin, North Carolina Forecast

CHARLOTTE, N.C. - For those who might think that Jeff Gordon’s splendid 2014 run in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series might have tempted him to reconsider his decision to retire from full-time competition, think again.

In fact, Gordon’s top-notch performance on the track only reinforced his decision to bow out of the No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet.

“A couple of years ago, when I wasn’t as competitive as I wanted to be, I wanted to end it right then,” Gordon said recently at the Charlotte Convention Center during the Hendrick Motorsports stop on the Charlotte Motor Speedway NASCAR Media Tour. “I was like, ‘God, this is no fun.’

“I got into racing because I loved it, and I was competitive and enjoying it. Because of that, I just found myself being frustrated a lot (when he wasn’t winning). But this is what I think is so interesting: a lot of people say, ‘Well, I can’t believe he did it, because of the year that he had last year.’


The Franklin High School girl's varsity basketball team took a break from game time last Friday night, to recognize senior guard Vanessa Agrusa, (below) who scored her 500th career assist against the North Henderson Knights.

The Panthers defeated the Knights, 69-46, and continued their winning streak, slaughtering East Henderson on their home turf Tuesday night, 65-37.

Franklin's varsity boys basketball team fought hard throughout the game against North Henderson, but came up short, falling to the Knights, 53-50.

Tuesday night the Panthers travelled to East Henderson, where the Panthers were victorious ending the game on top, 54-50.


Photo by Vickie CarpenterWith the 2014-15 school year in the home stretch, high school seniors are beginning to focus on preparing for college this fall.

Franklin High School senior Harrison Conner has already selected where he will spend the next four years of his education by committing to Western Carolina University's track and cross country team.

With Conner is sister, Kennedy; mother, Cheryl Contino-Connor; father, Michael Conner; Coach Jeff Howard and Coach Rita Esterwood.

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Over the years, NASCAR premier series champions have come in all shapes and sizes – tall, short, muscular and lean. The single constant? It’s impossible to judge a book by its cover.

Based upon first impressions, Rex White – at 5 feet 4 inches, weighing just 135 pounds and with his right leg withered by childhood polio – might have seemed the unlikeliest championship contender of all.

White, however, was tough as nails fearing neither competitor nor track conditions. He won the 1960 premier series title and posted 28 victories over five seasons, finishing among the top five in nearly half of his 233 starts.


Page 11 of 107

Macon County News is now on:
Find the Macon County News on Facebook! and Find the Macon County News on twitter!
Facebook   Twitter